BOOK REVIEW: YHWH

On her website Paula K. Parker wrote:

“I know many young people and adults who don’t read the Bible simply because they don’t think the language is understandable,” states co-writer, Paula K. Parker. “YHWH: The Flood, The Fish & The Giant is a contemporary adaptation of those ancient stories that bring the three major world faiths together, but rewritten for the Harry Potter Generation.”

G.P. Taylor is an Anglican vicar who has written several works of fiction and fantasy to communicate the great messages of Scripture in entertaining ways. In the tradition of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and others he brings the ancient worlds to life.  

When books are co-written, I often wonder which author made what contribution.  Not having read Parker or Taylor, I read it as if written by one.  I found the writing to be consistent, compelling and true to the Bible stories being revisited.  

Poetic license can sometimes be an excuse to re-frame the message to fit an agenda.  While the Scriptures used are common to Jews, Christians and Muslims, the retelling of the great stories are decidely Christian.  I do not have a problem with that.  Two Christian authors are able to see the Living Word unbound in the ancient text.

'Walk Through The Bible' invited the authors to write this book.  In their mandate to promote the reading of Scripture, this book has done a good job of whetting appetites for the original stories.


_________________________________


Book has been provided courtesy of Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.  Available now at your favourite bookseller.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

CROSS MY HEART AND HOPE TO DIE

TEN WAYS TO SAY THANK YOU TO RIELLY MCLAREN

RIELLY AND THE NEXT CHAPTER